Tribal vice president advocates for unity

Leona and Norman Kitto honor newly elected Flandreau Santee Sioux Tribe council members with sage and eagle feathers at a swearing in ceremony Aug. 6 at the powwow grounds. Council members are Jonathan Schrader Sr, Trustee II; Cynthia J. Allen-Weddell, vice president; and Richard Jones, Trustee IV. More photos on page 10

New tribal board members were sworn in last week, in an election that named Cynthia J. Allen-Weddell the new vice president for the Flandreau Santee Sioux Tribe.
Allen-Weddell earned 120 votes to 80 votes for incumbent Andrew Weston.
In the Trustee II position, Jonathan Schrader Sr. had 113 votes to 85 for Gordon E. Jones Jr. The Trustee IV position was filled by Richard Jones, who had 133 votes, compared to 63 votes for Marsha K. Schlueter.
Newly-elected members were sworn on Aug. 6 at the powwow grounds by Judge Sherman Marshall, after members leaving the board were honored with sage, eagle feathers and star quilts. In addition to Weston, those leaving the board are David Kills-A-Hundred and Jason Armstrong.
The positions are full-time jobs with the tribe.
President Tony Reider welcomed dozens of people to the event, that included honoring songs and a lunch.
“I’m excited for the new council coming on and for what they’ll bring,” he said.
Allen-Weddell said she hopes to help with communication and unity for the tribe, as it works with the city, county and state.
“We’re all in the same community. We’re all together,” she said.
Norman Kitto prayed for the future council.
“We ask that you keep your hearts and your minds open and listen to the people and most of all hear the people,” he said.


Video News
More In Homepage