FSST to hold primary election

The June 7th Primary isn’t the only election coming up for some locals. The Flandreau Santee Sioux are holding primaries for Tribal elections on June 15. The polls will be open from 8:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. at Eastman Hall. Absentee ballots are available in the meantime at Tribal Headquarters.
Running for President this year is incumbent Tony Reider, who has held the position since 2010 along with challengers Shelli Marshall, Gabriel Weston and Kenneth Weston.
Looking to assume the roll of Secretary are Leah Fyten, April Herrick, incumbent Donalda Montoya, and Debra Wakeman.
Vying for Trustee 1 are incumbent Kristi Bietz, Jessica Hovland, Norman Kitto, and Jean Paul Roy.
Trustee III candidates include Andres Davis, David Ross, and Marsha Schlueter.
Unofficial results will reportedly be posted for the three days following the election and official results after that.


More In Local