FSST members vote in primary election June 15

Four Flandreau Santee Sioux Tribe members are vying for the tribal president spot, while 15 others want to fill the jobs of secretary and trustees.

Cynthia J. Allen-Weddell, Jessica Hovland, Anthony Reider and Rick Sorensen will be on the primary election ballot when polls open from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. June 15. The two top vote getters will move on to the general election the first week in August.

For secretary, Paul Corcoran, Angeline Eastman, Helen Hart, Donalda Montoya and Francis Wakeman III will compete for two spots on the August ballot.

Trustee I candidates that also will be narrowed to two include Sam Allen, Kristi Bietz, Ron E. Gilbert, Laura Herrick, Jean Paul Roy, Jonathan Schrader and Gabriel Weston. Trustee III candidates are William Gilbert, Norman Kitto and Kenny Weston.

Voting will take place at Eastman Hall. Absentee ballots for the election can be voted until June 14 and are available at the tribal office during normal business hours.


Video News
More In Homepage