C-E Hawk Track

Coaches: Jeff Larsen, Kristi Smith


“We are excited for the 2017 track and field season,” said first-year head coach Jeff Larsen. “We need to continue to work hard and improve each day.

The team is strongest in the sprints and relays.

The Hawks placed second in the 4x400-meter relay and third in both the 4x100 and 4x200 at the Class B State Meet a year ago.

Colman-Egan placed seventh at state with 36 points – three points out of the top three and won the Dakota Valley Conference title last season.

Cole Kriech took second in the 400 meters and sixth in the 800 at state. Walker Olivier was seventh in both the 110-meter and 300-meter hurdles. Kade Groos added an eighthplace showing in the 400.

Other notable returners include Bodee Groos, Malik Poppenga, Joe Bennett and Devin Lohr.


Colman-Egan returns three state qualifiers from last year – Haleigh Nicol in the triple jump, Sami Lebert in the long jump and Elizabeth Moore in the high jump.

The Hawks won the 4x100-meter relay and were runners-up in the 4x200-meter relay at the DVC meet in 2016. They took second in the team standings at the Sunshine Bible Academy Invite. The junior high team won the DVC title.

Other returning athletes are Burgin Groos (throws), Olivia Baumberger (sprints/jumps), Jordan Wittrock (mid-long distance), Madison Voelker (distance/high jump), Katie Hannasch (sprints) and Grace Anderson (throws).

Newcomers include Savannah Moore (sprints), Mackenzie Hemmer (hurdles) and Braiden Westley (multiple events).

Ninth-year head coach Kristi R. Smith listed a few strengths.

“With more girls out this year, we will have more competition to push each other in practice,” she said. “Our team will be able to fill most events at track meets, so we will be able to compete for more team points.

“Our girls are motivated, hard working and ready to compete. Some of our best events this year will be in the jumps and relays.”

Smith said the team is quite young this year, with five upperclassmen – five seniors and two juniors.

“Last year we were able to qualify three girls for the state meet, and we hope to take even more this year,” she added. “This season we are looking forward to being more competitive as a team at track meets.”

C-E Hawk Boys’ Track & Field

Row 1 from left, Bailey Voelker, Walker Olivier. Row 2, Levi Baumberger, Ben

Zwart, Logan Voelker, Noah Bowen, Austin Gullickson, Dawson Tolley, Camden

Schmidt, Gavin Costine, Wade Kansanback and Weston Miles. Row 3,

Bodee Groos, Kade Groos, Ashtyn Shafer, Shandon Anderson, Monte Berg,

Eli Bowen, Sam McKay, Chase Hemmer, Sheldon Anderson and Ryker

Hawkins. Row 4, Devin Lohr, Alec Landis, Dalton Voelker, Joe Bennett, Cole

Kriech, Malik Poppenga, Zach Anderson, Chandler Gullickson, Kelby Voelker

and Riley Blissmer. Not Pictured are Trey Costine and Xander Mallory.

C-E Girls’ Track & Field

Row 1 from left, Kadance Landis, Josie Mousel, Abby Rhode, Reese Luze,

Ava Mousel, Berkley Groos and Bridgette Baumberger. Row 2, Hailey Larson,

Paige Franka, Elizabeth Moore, Kennedi Landis, Jordan Wittrock, Addison

Blissmer, Faith Taggart, Karisma Rennich and Sami Lebert. Row 3,

Allison Olson, Madison Fodness, Lyndsey Wanner, Mackenzie Hemmer,

Haleigh Nicol, Sydney Ockenga and Braiden Westley. Row 4, Olivia Baumberger,

Burgin Groos, Madison Voelker, Grace Anderson, Katie Hannasch,

Olivia Moore and Raelynn Engelkes. Not pictured is Savannah Moore.


Video News