Amdahl races to state championship

Elliot Amdahl accepted the award for the state champion in the IMCA sprint car division Saturday in Lincoln, Neb. He is pictured with his dad, Matthew Amdahl, and Justin Krull. Not pictured is his crew chief Greg Krull.

A Flandreau racecar driver finished top in the state in his category and brought home other top 10 awards from area tracks.
Elliot Amdahl was the South Dakota sprint car champion in the IMCA division, an award he collected Saturday night.
He was one of two Flandreau racecar drivers who finished in the top 10 in points for the season in a couple of categories.
Amdahl tied for second in points at Jackson Motorplex in Jackson, Minn., and was second in points among IMCA Sprint cars at Park Jefferson in Jefferson. For the Park Jefferson second-place finish, his 297 points put him two points behind the leader Colin Smith of Sheldon, Iowa. At the Minnesota track, Amdahl earned 262 points in the IMCA 305 Sprints category, tying with Kaleb Johnson of Sioux Falls and one point behind the champion Shane Fick of Brandon, who had 263 points.
Nationally, Amdahl finished 18th place with 711 points.
Amdahl won the feature at Park Jefferson Sept. 15.
In the USRA B-Modified division, Curt Ahlers placed fourth in points for the season at both Rock Rapids Speedway and Nobles County Speedway. He had 958 points at Rock Rapids and 926 at the Worthington, Minn., track.
Nationally, Ahlers ranked 38th among 500 drivers who raced at least three times. He also picked up one feature win this season.
Other sprint car drivers from Flandreau who placed for the season included Taylor Ryan, who finished 11th at Park Jefferson and 27th at Jackson. Matt Ziebarth finished 17th at Park Jefferson and 42nd at Jackson, while Ben Waxdahl placed 39th at Park Jefferson.


Video News